1. Join Date
    Mar 2007

Why use Gamma/LUT correction ???

Dear all, please reply and share your ideas with me otherwise I am about to go mad. Please help me !!!

Since a month ago, I was never using Gamma/LUT correction enabled and having really nice and quality renders. Then importing them to PS to make them look better. It was working pretty good.

Then I enabled gamma/LUT correction to 2,2 just as everybody using this. I do the things that commonly told and I watched too many tutorials. I gamma correct all of the textures and shaders/materials to 2,2. Render in VFB where sRGB is enabled. I use exponential and/or linear multiply just as described in many of the tutorials. But the results I get are always very close to horrible, almost terrifying.

Except for this gamma/LUT correction issue, I am not a newbie in 3ds max but not an expert also. I can do some satisfying works but with gamma/LUT correction enabled, I am just like the first day with 3ds max.

Am I supposed to or have to enable gamma/LUT correction for much professional renders? Is it fatally necessary?

Please help me. I am stuck at this and completely desperate.

Please see the renders below. The first one is not gamma/LUT corrected and rendered with exponential colour mapping

The second one is gamma corrected and linear multiply is the colour mapping

[IMG] Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/IMG]

[IMG] Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/IMG]
  2. Join Date
    Dec 2009

same problem with me also any body can slove this problem send mee message plz
  3. Join Date
    Jan 1970

hello opaque ,....
    man i work with 3d about 5 years and now i use the LWF and see the difference ...
    whitout gamma i make a lot of corretions in PS with light levels and etcs...
    sure you have to learn somethings all new ...
    only see the renders you post the 1 is very nice ... the 2 is horrible .. hehe ...
    looking about lights
    now to get a renders more professionals is only way ..
    study study study ;;;.