1. Join Date
    Dec 2016

A Lonely Cabin In The Woods

Hi everyone, this is my first time participating in an acrhi-viz contest, and I am new to the 3D field in general (so good luck to me )

I've been thinking a lot about the concept and atmosphere I want to get in the end, and making heaps of sketches was quite an enjoyable part. One thing that was clear to me from the beginning is that I don't want to go with a conventional backyard, but I rather wanted to interpret a "Secret Garden" in a broader sense.

So, my main theme is a tropical rainforest with lots of vines, weirdly curved giant tree branches, peculiarly twisted leaves of all sorts and a mysterious hut amongst them. Needless to say, it's not going to be just a typical forest since I decided to add a little bit f magic into it and make it look like an illustration from a fairy-tail book.

Below you can see my sketches which I drew in order to get a better definition of what I want to get as a result. Accordingly, the coloured sketch was made to help me figure out the colour scheme and overall atmosphere. (The sketches don't represent the final look of the picture though, because I like to change some details here and there as I continue working)

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sketches.jpg 
Views:	114 
Size:	637.6 KB 
ID:	174999

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	152 
Size:	754.9 KB 
ID:	174998

Current State: Click image for larger version. 

Name:	7.jpg 
Views:	115 
Size:	1.20 MB 
ID:	175397
    Last edited by jullkorr; 2017-01-07 at 03:52 PM.
  2. Join Date
    Dec 2016

I decided to start with one of the main shapes - the giant tree in the centre where the cabin is going to be set. Sketches made it easier for me to set the camera (though it might be shifted a little afterwards). I'm also going to add some moss and leaves later on.

I used ZBrush to model this tree, 3DS Max was used for rendering.

Name:	tree2.jpg 
Views:	112 
Size:	288.0 KB 
ID:	175065
  3. Join Date
    Dec 2016